March 26, 2009

The Honorable Steven Chu Secretary of Energy U.S. Department of Energy Washington, D.C. 20585-1000

The Honorable Tom Vilsack Secretary of Agriculture U.S. Department of Agriculture Washington, D.C. 20250 The Honorable Lisa Jackson Administrator U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Washington, D.C. 20460

The Honorable Carol Browner Asst. to the President for Energy & Climate Change The White House Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear Secretaries Chu and Vilsack, Administrator Jackson and Mrs. Browner:

The undersigned diverse group of business, environmental, taxpayer, free-market and public health groups opposes any administrative or legislative efforts to increase the current cap on the amount of ethanol permitted to be blended into gasoline until independent and comprehensive testing has been completed that indicates that such mid-level ethanol blends (whether E12, E15 or E20) will not pose a risk to all gasoline-powered engines, to public health, to the environment and to consumers.

To quote from President Obama's March 9, 2009 Memorandum on "Scientific Integrity":

"Science and the scientific process must inform and guide decisions of my Administration on a wide range of issues, including improvement of public health, protection of the environment, increased efficiency in the use of energy and other resources, mitigation of the threat of climate change, and protection of national security."

Some have advocated that Congress or the Environmental Protection Agency ignore President Obama's Memorandum, avoid the safeguards built into Section 211(f) of the Clean Air Act (safeguards that were just strengthened by Congress in 2007), and approve mid-level ethanol blends before comprehensive testing programs on these blends have been completed by qualified and independent stakeholders, such as the Department of Energy and the Coordinating Research Council. We collectively, and strongly, oppose such an ill-considered approach as contrary to scientific integrity and potentially harmful to our environment, public health and consumers.

Sincerely,

Alliance for Worker Freedom American Bakers Association American Beverage Association American Conservative Union American Lung Association American Meat Institute

American Sportfishing Association

Americans for Tax Reform

Americans for the Preservation of Liberty

Association of International Automobile Manufacturers

Association of Marina Industries

Boat Owners Association of the United States

Center for Auto Safety

Clean Air Task Force

Competitive Enterprise Institute

Council for Citizens Against Government Waste

Earthjustice

Engine Manufacturers Association

Environmental Working Group

Friends of the Earth

Grocery Manufacturers Association

Hispanic Alliance for Prosperity Institute

The Hispanic Institute

International Dairy Foods Association

International Snowmobile Manufacturers Association

National Center for Public Policy Research

National Chicken Council

National Council of Chain Restaurants

National Marine Manufacturers Association

National Petrochemical and Refiners Association

National Restaurant Association

National Taxpayers Union

National Turkey Federation

Natural Resources Defense Council

Outdoor Power Equipment Institute

Personal Watercraft Industry Association

Public Citizen

Sierra Club

Small Business & Entrepreneurship Council

Snack Food Association

Taxpayers for Common Sense

Alabama Poultry and Egg Association

California Poultry Federation

Georgia Poultry Federation

Indiana Poultry Federation
Iowa Turkey Federation
Minnesota Turkey Growers Assocation
Mississippi Poultry Association
North Carolina Poultry Federation
Poultry Federation of Arkansas, Oklahoma and Missouri
Virginia Poultry Association

Butterball, LLC FarmEcon LLC. Gold'n Plump Poultry Pilgrim's Pride

cc: The Honorable Nancy Pelosi

The Honorable Steny Hoyer

The Honorable Henry Waxman

The Honorable Harry Reid

The Honorable Richard Durbin

The Honorable Barbara Boxer

The Honorable John Boehner

The Honorable Eric Cantor

The Honorable Joe Barton

The Honorable Mitch McConnell

The Honorable Jon Kyl

The Honorable James Inhofe